Learn About Section 8 Housing in Tennessee

Tennessee Section 8 housing is a rental assistance program tailored to help low income residents and families find affordable housing. Low income house rentals are offered by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and benefits are administered locally to residents by registered Public Housing Agencies (PHA). Section 8 is a Housing Choice Voucher program intended to provide quality low income housing to qualified applicants by subsidizing the rental fee charged by public housing landlords. The housing authority that is in charge of providing rental subsidies on behalf of the Section 8 housing beneficiaries is the Tennessee Housing Development Authority (THDA). Meanwhile, the HUD provides quality and safety standards, which the TN low income house rentals must meet before they are rented to Section 8 beneficiaries. The main areas of the Tennessee Section 8 program are as follows:

  • Tennessee Section 8 eligibility
  • How to apply for Section 8 housing in Tennessee
  • Tennessee Section 8 waiting list
  • Tennessee Section 8 denial

Learn About Tennessee Section 8 Requirements

What are the requirements for Section 8 in TN? Section 8 eligibility requires that the applicant meet certain criteria regarding family status, income levels and citizenship, among others. If you have asked “What are the qualifications for low income housing?” Section 8 candidates can contact the PHA or state HUD offices to get eligibility information. One of the most important Section 8 Housing Voucher eligibility conditions is that the applicant must be from a low-income family.

Do I qualify for Section 8 housing? HUD specifies that Tennessee low income housing applicants must have incomes below the state median level in order to be eligible. There are three income limits that qualify the candidate for Section 8 Housing Vouchers, including low income (80 percent of the median income level), very low income (50 percent of the state’s median income), and extremely low income (30 percent of the state’s median income). According to the HUD policy, 75 percent of the Section 8 Vouchers are distributed to families with extremely low income limits.

What do I need to apply for Section 8? To be eligible, the applicant should meet the definition of a family, either by living as a single person or with a group of people. The TN housing authority stipulates that Section 8 applicants must also be citizens of the United States, and must provide documents verifying their citizenship status. In addition to natural-born U.S. citizens, qualified aliens can be beneficiaries of Section 8, as long as they have proper documentation. HUD dictates that an applicant who has a record of past evictions for drug-related problems is not eligible to receive Section 8 benefits, and this drug-related limitation endures for a period of three years from the time the candidate applies for Section 8.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 Housing in Tennessee

Eligible residents can register for Section 8 housing program benefits through the Tennessee Housing Development Authority, or any local Public Housing Agency (PHA). HUD Section 8 application forms can be completed at any HUD office in the state. Conversely, candidates can fill out an online application for low income housing to save on time and travel costs. Petitioners can check status for Section 8 application forms that have been completed via the internet by going online. For online applications, the candidate fills out the Pre-Application Form and then chooses the county waiting list for which he or she would like to apply. Afterwards, the candidate proceeds with the application process by declaring details like the number of family members in the household, the annual gross income of the household and the Social Security Number of each member. The applicant receives a confirmation number as he or she waits for Section 8 approval.

Help with how to sign up for Section 8 is available through PHA and housing authority personnel. Complete forms in person by visiting the local PHA and filling out a Pre-Application Form, an Application Cover Sheet and an HUD Voucher Form. The PHA will screen the applicant for eligibility and put him or her on a waiting list, if qualified. A letter of eligibility is always issued to qualified applicants as soon as they are top-listed to be Section 8 beneficiaries.

Learn About the Tennessee Section 8 Waiting List

The TN Section 8 application waiting list is created to show the applicants who have been given priority for the Section 8 housing program. The PHA creates this low income housing waiting list to manage the rental assistance requests it receives. If the requests exceed the available resources, then the waiting list is closed.

When will the Section 8 waiting lists open in Tennessee? Candidates on the waiting list can confirm this information with the PHAs in their county. The low income housing waiting list is always prioritized based on a number of factors. Among the applicants who receive priority consideration are the elderly and disabled, people displaced by natural disasters and local residents. The Section 8 housing program application waiting list is then sorted based on the date and time the requests are received. A petitioner on the waiting list is expected to update registration information as frequently as possible, because failure to do so can lead to termination from the waiting list. All information about Section 8 waiting lists is provided by HUD and the THDA. Candidates can check waiting list status for Section 8 benefits by paying these offices a visit, as the Section 8 housing waiting list 2016 is currently available to the public.

Learn About Tennessee Section 8 Denial

Section 8 housing disqualifications are decided by the Tennessee housing authority. If you are asking, “What are the reasons for Section 8 denial in Tennessee?” there are a number of possible reasons. The most common reason for denial occurs when the applicant or the applicant’s family has a background of tenancy disturbance or drug-related evictions. Having a history of failing to pay rent and falsifying information during the application process can lead to a disqualification as well. A Section 8 denial letter is issued to the applicant once the application is rejected. Rejected candidates wondering what to do if their Section 8 application was denied should refer to the denial letter to note the reasons given.

It is essential to know how to appeal Section 8 denial verdicts, should they occur. The TN Section 8 denial appeal must be filed within 20 days after receiving the denial letter. After the petitioner completes the appeal, the housing authority will create a hearing conference to decide if the denial merits reconsideration.

Website: Local Offices.

State: Tennessee

Contact Information

  • Office Name/Address

    Nashville Field Office

    235 Cumberland Bend

    Suite 200

    Nashville, TN 37228-1803

  • Manager


    Field Office Director

  • Phone/Fax

    (615) 515-8510


    (615) 736-7848


  • Region/Regional Office

    Region IV

    Atlanta GA