Learn About Section 8 Housing in North Dakota

Low income housing options in North Dakota are offered through several programs established by a joint effort between the federal, state, and local governments. Titled Section 8, this program offers low income house rentals to those who qualify for the program. Section 8 should not be confused with other low income housing options, which have a separate application process. Housing and Urban Development, or HUD, is the federal department responsible for the program’s standards and protocols, while the local housing authority, called the Public Housing Agency (PHA), administers funding and qualifies candidates at the local level.

Section 8 housing in North Dakota is called the Housing Choice Voucher program, and it exists to assist low income families, the elderly and the disabled afford safe and reliable housing in the public real estate market. Find out more about Section 8 in ND by reading the following topics:

  • Section 8 eligibility in North Dakota
  • How to apply for Section 8 housing in North Dakota
  • Information about Section 8 waiting lists in North Dakota
  • Section 8 denials in North Dakota

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in North Dakota

Many Section 8 applicants wonder, “What are the qualifications for low income housing?” Section 8 eligibility is largely dependent on applicants meeting criteria requirements in several key areas, including income, citizenship and criminal history. Given this fact, most applicants ask themselves, “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing in North Dakota?” The best thing to do is learn the detailed requirements and evaluate if your situation is likely to qualify for Section 8 aid.

What are the requirements for Section 8 in ND? The local and state authorities require that Section 8 applicants who are petitioning for housing aid are US citizens or legal alien residents who reside in the county where the application was submitted. Additionally, applicants will need to be able to show proof of income, and demonstrate that their income level falls below 50 percent of the average median income of the area where they live. Lastly, the PHA will run a full background check on all adult members of the applicant’s household. If an applicant, or an adult member of their household, has been evicted from public housing, has been arrested due to drug related crimes, or has been a convicted criminal, the application will be denied. Applicants will only be eligible to reapply after a three year waiting period. If you want to know “What do I need to apply for Section 8” continue on to read the next section.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 Housing in North Dakota

Applicants wanting to learn how to sign up for Section 8 housing in ND, can find most of the instructions clearly explained on the form. The HUD Section 8 application can be found online, but must be printed, filled out by hand and submitted in person. Not all PHA offices distribute vouchers, so only submit an application to offices that are included on the official list (available through the local NDHUD office). An online application for low income housing is currently not offered in most ND counties, though the form can be obtained online. To register for the Section 8 housing program, an applicant needs to fill out the cover sheet and the pre-interview form, then consult the longer form that lists the types of documents that will be needed in order to submit the application.

In general, Section 8 applications submitted in ND take a few weeks to process. Applicants can check status for Section 8 application forms by calling the office where it was submitted, or by checking online. Documents required from the applicant and household members commonly include driver’s licenses, a list of assets, proof of residency (utility bills or voter’s registration card) and any documents from other federal aid programs that the petitioner is enrolled in.

Learn About Section 8 Waiting Lists in North Dakota

Qualified Section 8 applicants will be placed on the low income housing waiting list, which is maintained independently by each county PHA office. The North Dakota Section 8 housing program services 50 counties in the state. Several counties, Dunn County in particular, do not offer Section 8 housing, but rather extend low income housing options to those who qualify. Local residents who qualify for housing subsidies will receive a letter requesting a formal interview with the PHA in the county where the applicant resides.

Once the applicant finishes the interview and becomes eligible for Section 8, he or she is placed on the waiting list. The Section 8 housing waiting list 2016 is updated weekly, but is often closed for most of the year due to low turnover rates within the program. Once an opening becomes available, the next family on the Section 8 housing program application waiting list will be contacted. Eligibility for Section 8 in ND is recertified each year.

When will the Section 8 waiting list open in North Dakota? The list is different for each county, so applicants are urged to check throughout the week to see if the waitlist has opened, or if the applicant’s name has moved, or been removed, from the list. Eligible applicants who want to check waiting list status for Section 8 can simply access the PHA site and look online, or call the HUD offices.

Learn About Section 8 Denials in North Dakota

In North Dakota, when an applicant receives a Section 8 denial letter in the mail, it means that the application for housing subsidies has been denied. What are the reasons for Section 8 denial? For many Section 8 applicants, the rejection comes as a direct result of forgetting to sign all of the forms. Other applicants are rejected because their income levels were determined to be too high to receive aid. Section 8 housing disqualifications can also stem from a lack of adequate documentation.

Most applicants who receive Section 8 denial letters want to know what to do if Section 8 application was denied. First, carefully review the Section 8 denial letter. By law the letter must list out the specific reasons for the denial. If the applicant feels their denial is unjustified, then a Section 8 denial appeal can be filed by the applicant, or on behalf of legal counsel, if desired. Applicants who want to know more about how to appeal a Section 8 denial will find detailed information included on the denial letter.

Website: Local Offices.

State: North Dakota

Contact Information

  • Office Name/Address

    Fargo Field Office

    657 Second Avenue North

    Room 366

    Fargo, ND 58108-2483

  • Manager


    Field Office Director

  • Phone/Fax

    (701) 239-5136


    (701) 239-5249


  • Region/Regional Office

    Region VIII

    Denver CO